Everybody Dance Now

Or why I love teaching dance to adults.

My name is Claire and I am Jewelled Bird Dance. The ‘jewelled’ bit relates to my tattoos and ‘bird’ because I am an occasional aerialist and love to fly. It also relates to the feeling of freedom that dance gives me. I have spent the last 10 years (where has that time gone?!) teaching dance as a freelance teacher throughout the South East of England to dancers as young as 2 years old all the way up to 70 plus.

Teaching adults is genuinely one of the highlights of my job and I am lucky enough to teach at an adults only studio where the grown ups are the stars of the show and not just an addition to the kids timetable. This means that we have the amazing opportunity to teach at absolute beginner level all the way up to ex professionals and dance teachers coming along for their own enjoyment. However, adult classes of all types are beneficial and whether it’s a general level class at the end of the timetable day in a children’s studio or a dedicated adults studio, people can start or continue their journey alongside like minded people.

I just wanted to talk a little about being able to give ourselves permission as adults to try something new, in this case, dance. I have had many, many adults reach out to me with the desire to start dance, but they feel as though they need someone’s permission, or that they might not fit in for whatever reason. Well, I am here to tell you that you don’t need anyone’s permission, and you will fit in!

“I don’t have a dancer’s body.”

First of all, the old stereotype of a ‘dancer’s body’ is being slowly eroded away by the amazing work done by people like Colene Werner of Black Sheep Ballet (see links below), Amanda LaCount and Erik Cavanaugh, who are all redefining what a dance body should look like.

Black Sheep Ballet https://instagram.com/blacksheepballet?igshid=srbqjh7ql1yj

What does having a dance body even mean? I have a dancer’s body because I dance and I have a body. My body is a dancer’s body. My weight has fluctuated over the years, it has never stopped me loving dance. So please don’t let your body shape stop you from starting your dance journey.

This issue can be problematic when the adult is a returning dancer and they feel as though they are not in the same shape that they were 10, 15, 20 years ago when they stopped dancing and therefore they can’t come back to class. Returning dancers need to accept that they will never be the same dancer as they were before, especially if they were pre professional or professional, but they will be different. Not worse. Just different. Don’t let this be a barrier to your enjoyment and love of dance, you can always make dance your own. You do not have to be a certain weight, nor do you need to fit into an unrealistic version of yourself to allow yourself the happiness of dance. Give yourself permission to reach out to that studio you’ve been checking out and get to the barre!

“I’m not the right gender.”

Dance, ballet especially, has long been the stronghold of little girls in pink tutus with fairy wands. I have taught people who identify as female and I have taught people who identify as male. I have taught trans women and I have taught non binary people. I can tell you now that the benefits of dance remain the same.

However, I do understand the cultural and societal barriers to men starting dance can be overwhelming and it can be a very big step for a man to reach out as an adult and start dancing, especially theatre dance. Street dance, hip hop and commericial have more visable male dancers and therefore it might be easier and more confortable to reach out to these studios and join those classes. However, if ballet, jazz or contemporary has stolen your heart, please don’t feel as if you can’t learn one of those styles. The adult dance community is one of the most accepting places I know, and you are always welcome in the studio.

“I’m too old.”

Dance has not always been as available to adults as it is now. The surge in popularity of dance classes is relatively recent, and so many adults who dreamt of dancing feel now that they have somehow missed the boat and that they are too old to start their journey. This is categorically not true! Your dance journey can begin at any age, and indeed dance can have numerous benefits; physical, mental, emotional and social, all of which are topics for another time.

Don’t let your age be a barrier to your dancing. Be honest with your teacher about what you feel your body can or can’t do and things you find tricky or a bit scary. Any qualified, experienced teacher will give you an option, a variation on the exercise or will help you through it, even giving you exercises to safely try at home to build your strength up. It is never too late to start something new!

“I’m not flexible enough.”

This is the one that makes me me laugh a little if I’m honest. When I started aerial, I never said, “Oh, I’m not strong enough.” or when someone starts running, they don’t say “Well, I’m not fast enough.” It’s all a process! So you might not be flexible now, but maybe after a few months hard work and training you will see a noticeable improvement if that is what your goals are.

Professional dancers tend to be labelled as being flexible, and for good reason, but honestly, the members of the adult dance class will have a number of different goals, and you will soon realise that flexibilty is only one of them. They want to get strong. They want to improve their stamina. They want to nail a step they have been practising for weeks. They want to gain confidence when improvising. They might want to take part in a performance. Flexible is fun, but you’ll soon realise it’s not a requirement to enjoy dance.

“I don’t want to wear a leotard.”

My adult dance students wear all sorts. There are some leotards, yes, and some are in classical ballet tights and even the odd skirt. Most of them wear fitness gear; t-shirts, leggings, joggers, shorts, crop tops. Honestly, it’s whatever you are comfortable moving in. Traditionally, the uniform of a leotard and form fitting clothes is in order for the the teacher to be able to see the movement of the body and the alignment of the shoulders, spine, hips and legs. If you are comfortable in tight fitting clothes then that can help with corrections, but don’t worry if you would rather wear something loose.

The only gear I would recommend buying especially would be the shoes. Once you have had your trial and you decide you want to carry on, buy yourself a great pair of ballet or tap shoes. It’s like buying yourself a supportive pair of running shoes, or a pair of weight lifting trainers. The correct shoes fitted by a professional will enhance your training and keep your body safe. When you put your shoes on at the beginning of a class it helps get you in that mindset of the ballet class, or the jazz class. I say to my students that it should be like a switch, ‘it’s ballet time now’ and it helps them to enter that headspace. Who knows, maybe you’ll gain so much confidence from dancing you’ll want to treat your body to a beautiful new leotard!

If not now….when?

So if dance is something you have always wanted to do, or you are longing to return, don’t hesitate! If a studio is currently too overwhelming, check out some of the amazing online resources that are readily available!

Check these links out:

Katherine Morgan https://youtube.com/c/Tutugirlkem

Rambert Home Studio https://www.rambert.org.uk/homestudio/

English National Ballet https://youtube.com/c/englishnationalballet

None of these are a substitute for in person classes, but they will help you find your confidence in the comfort of your own home. Then when you are ready, get yourself to a studio as soon as you can, because that’s where the magic happens!

Published by Jewelled Bird Dance

Passionate dance educator and occasional aerialist.

2 thoughts on “Everybody Dance Now

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started